Sky High

Dear Friends,

Look at this skyscraper! At 322.5 metres, it’s one of the tallest residential buildings in the world.

p1110725

Can you guess where it is?

The beautiful blue sky should give you a clue. It’s at the Gold Coast in the Sunshine State of Queensland; the Q1 building sits right on the beach at Surfers Paradise.

You know me – I love being up high! I had to visit SkyPoint, the observation deck on the 76th and 77th floors of the tower.

p1110677

On my way into the building, the word ‘adventure’ caught my eye.

Then I spotted a very adventurous looking man outside the shop.

p1110724

He was all kitted out for a SkyPoint Climb – 298 stairs on the outside of the tower to an elevation of 270 metres! When Adventure Man heard I was an alpine beaver and used to heights, he invited me to go with him. I was so excited…until I found out there wasn’t a Climb Suit or a safety harness in my size.

Oh, the devastation I felt.

Instead of joining Adventure Man, I had to sit inside, watching and waiting, as he ventured out into the open air and began the long upwards climb.

p1110716

p1110715

Lucky the views were worth the wait.

p1110721

Justin.

8 Comments

  1. Oh Justin, that would be a long climb. Especially for those of us with short legs. I am glad you did not try to climb outside. The building is fabulous and the view is wonderful. Beaches are always beautiful. I, Zeb the Duck love reading about more of your adventures.

    • I was kind of wishing he might sneak me into his pocket, but I didn’t want to risk falling out. Better safe than sorry. I’m glad you enjoyed this story, Zeb. JB

  2. Did you feel any effects of altitude sickness up there? It’s very high!

    • Elaine, you know me – I’m an alpine beaver. Altitude is my thing! JB

  3. I love the view from the heights, but I have to admit that it can make me weak in the knees to be up that high. I am glad to enjoy the sights and heights vicariously through you!

  4. Gold coast is such a beautiful place with a vibrant night life, stunning beaches, and less crowded streets.

Speak to me...

