How Sweet It Is

Dear Friends,

Ever since I visited Adriano Zumbo’s pâtisserie at Manly I’ve been dreaming of his amazing zumbarons and incredible cakes. When I found out that not only was I going back to Sydney but I was going to be just a 10 minute drive from the great man’s newest store at Waverley, I was so excited. A cake-lovers expedition was at the top of the weekend’s agenda!

DSC03591

In my imagination I could see myself as Adriano’s right hand beaver: pâtissier extraordinaire, creating decadent desserts for food fanatics everywhere. Perhaps I could create some beaver-inspired zumbaron flavours for his next recipe book…

DSC03586Back to reality: these DIY Zumbo mixes looked easy enough – I was tempted to recreate the chocolate brownies or the salted caramel macarons.

DSC03584

That was until I looked in the cake cabinet. Why bake when the hard work had already been done for me? My lunch menu was decided.

DSC03596First course – lamb and African spice sausage roll – warm, peppery and topped with walnuts.

DSC03598

Second course – Dirty Dani – caramel crème Chantilly, passionfruit crème, salted caramel mou, hazelnut dacquoise, caramel crunch all balanced between milk chocolate plaques. It tasted even more astonishing than it looked.

DSC03606

Third course – zumbarons – choc cherry, mojito, fingerbun, caramel au beurre sale, liquorice…

DSC03605

It’s just as well I don’t live 10 minutes’ drive from any of Adriano’s stores. My lederhosen would soon be bursting at the seams!

DSC03609

Adriano, I’m your number one fan!

Justin.

DSC03588

9 Comments

  1. JB, I’ve seen him on Australian Masterchef, to which I am addicted big time. You?

    • Mrs ET loves Masterchef. I just love Adriano and his delectable creations! JB

      • It always comes on in September – every day for months. can’t wait.

        • The new season has just started here. It’s a little different Mrs ET says, but she is getting used to it now. JB

  2. I love your little AZ button, JB! Such yummy treats. All your looking is even making my suspenders burst at the seams! 🙂

    • A visit to Zumbo’s and a diet are not compatible Marsha! JB

      • hahaha No visits anywhere and diets are companionable to me, JB. Manny loves to eat, too. His little tummy shows it, too! 🙂 M & M

Speak to me...

