Leave a Light On

Dear Friends,

This week’s photo challenge theme is Let There Be Light. We were asked to photograph a light source and I had a light bulb moment! I did some research and came up with the following amazing facts about light bulbs.

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

The world’s oldest light bulb is in Fire Station 6 in Livermore, Northern California. It is still working after 112 years. This puts a new slant on the recent media discussion about extending the retirement age. I hope I’m not still working when I’m 112 years old!

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

How many retirees does it take to change a light bulb? Only one, but it might take all day!

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

The world’s largest light bulb is on top of the Thomas Edison Memorial in Edison, New Jersey. It is four metres tall. If I wanted to use it as a reading light I would have to sit on top of a giraffe. This might be a little precarious and most uncomfortable.

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

How many giraffes does it take to change a light bulb? Only one, if your ceiling is high enough.

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

According to the Guinness Book of Records the most Christmas lights on one decorated house is 502 165. Imagine if that string of tiny glass bulbs came out of the box in a tangled mess…

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

How many elves does it take to change a light bulb? Ten, one to change the light bulb and nine to stand on each other’s shoulders.

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

An average light bulb will last around 750 hours. If it takes me ten minutes to eat one piece of chocolate cake I could enjoy 4500 pieces before the lights went out!

103px-Light_bulb_icon.svg[1]

 How many doctors does it take to change a light bulb? Two, one to change the light bulb while the other attends to the beaver who ate too much cake.

 Justin.

16 Comments

  1. Thanks JB, I’ve learnt so much 🙂

    • Glad to be of assistance mrsc. Where have you been? I missed you.

      • Yes I seem to have been not here but no where important… I have done a little post today.

        I’ll use Christmas as an excuse.

  2. sharon roberts

    I think that is your funniest one yet.

  3. galan12

    Love it,, brill’ take. 😉

  4. Justin, the comment about retirees…. Really! 🙂 Manny sends you his regards, and hugs and kisses to Carol and Melissa and handshakes to you and Glenn. OK, he did learn some manners from you. Thanks so much for hosting him! 🙂

    • Oh Marsha, I didn’t mean you personally…it was a generally well known fact. It was fun travelling with Manny and I want him to know that what happens on holidays stays on holidays and I won’t be letting our little secrets out of the bag!

      • Tee hee, Justin. I won’t tell her, but she can see how big my tummy got. I think she already knows some things! Don’t mind Mom, though. She was just giving you a bad time. She does that A LOT!

        • Your secrets are safe with me Manny!

          • Whew! 🙂 P.S. Mom is bugging me to find out WHAT secrets!!! 🙂 Don’t cave, Carol! Don’t email her ANYTHING about THAT! 🙂 I love you, Carol. Give hugs and handshakes to Glenn and Justin. Give Melissa a big KISS. I want to marry Melissa. xox Manny.

          • I will tell her!

          • Tee heee 😘

          • Noooooooooooo!

Speak to me...

