All You Need Is Lunch – Weekly Photo Challenge – Lunchtime

Dear Friends,

DSCN5703

The kea is the world’s only alpine parrot and lives in the high country of the South Island of New Zealand. The visitor information board at the Rob Roy Glacier lookout says: “Keas are rather social, nomadic and inquisitive creatures. Their nosiness can lead to a congregation of kea around novel objects and they have been known to wreak havoc in alpine huts and car parks with their strong and manipulative beaks.” This kea nearly wreaked havoc with me!

I was enjoying the magnificent mountain scenery when suddenly he swooped past me and landed nearby.

DSCN5729

He kept looking sideways at me and I was beginning to think I was the “novel object” until he found a piece of fruit left over from a hiker’s lunch.

DSCN5723

Luckily it was more enticing than I was and he soon demolished the fruit and went off in search of more tasty morsels.

He appreciates a free lunch!

Justin.

8 Comments

  1. Sas

    I’ve never heard of an alpine parrot before. He looks like an ordinary parrot, only a bit more macho 🙂 Thanks for educating me 🙂

  2. terrifying, Justin. You’re lucky to be outa there alive.

    • I KNOW! He came much too close for comfort and he kept looking at me with those beady eyes. JB

  3. Amar Naik
  4. Whew! That was a close one, Justin!

Speak to me...

