How Many Miles?

Dear Friends,

 Ever since I read that the travels of Marco Polo inspired those of Christopher Columbus I have wanted to do some discovering of my own. The problem is that most places have already been discovered, but I found the perfect place to hone my exploration skills and try out my keen sense of direction.

DSCN5517

The Great Maze at Puzzling World in Wanaka is the world’s first modern labyrinth, with overhead walkways creating a 3D effect.

DSCN5496

DSCN5509

The task seemed straightforward. All I had to do was find the four corners of the maze – yellow, green, blue and red – and then find my way out again. It looked simple enough from above – just remember the design of the maze and take no wrong turns.

DSCN5499

DSCN5513

Easier said than done! Once I was down in the maze every corner and every wall looked the same. I didn’t know which way to turn.

DSCN5501

DSCN5507

In the end I just followed my nose (and a couple of other intrepid wanderers who looked like they knew what they were doing) and finally success was mine!

Then came the ultimate challenge: I had to find my way out again.

DSCN5508

Eventually I made it back to the finishing line. Whoever said it takes an hour to complete the maze must have been out of their mind with exhaustion!

DSCN5514

After this adventure I can cross “explorer” off my bucket list. I don’t need to do that again!

Justin.

7 Comments

  1. Looks really fun, but I’m pretty sure I’d be there all day since I basically have no sense of direction! 😉

  2. That looks like such fun! Well done you for finding all four corners AND your way back out again. 🙂

    • Thanks! It was fun finding the corners but getting out of there was just plain tricky! Justin.

  3. hahahaha You are one amazing beaver, Justin!

Trackbacks

  1. It’s a Puzzlement! | The Eternal Traveller

Speak to me...

