Speed of Light – Weekly Photo Challenge – Blur

Dear Friends,

This week I went for a ride on the Shinkansen, more commonly known as the Bullet Train, from Hakone to Tokyo.

P1010796

P1010787

The Shinkansen is able to reach a maximum speed of 320 kilometres per hour. I don’t know if we actually travelled that fast but once we started everything was a blur.

P1010791

P1010789

My personal assistant Mrs ET says these terrible photos she took are blurry because we were travelling so fast.

I’m not so sure about that. She’s had this problem before…

Justin.

Weekly Photo Challenge – Blur

18 Comments

  1. Things get weird once you approach the speed of light…

  2. Dear Justin,
    Lucky you!
    I’m curious, do you wear a seat belt on that train?! I sure hope so!

    • Hi Mary! I can’t remember wearing a seat belt. The whole ride was a blur. We were no sooner leaving Hakone than we were arriving in Tokyo. It was quite an adventure. JB

  3. We have those faster than fast trains in China too. the windows are specially constructed so it doesnt seem like you are travelling at 300+ kph. Looks like only 100kph lol.
    So it’s not so much of a visual blur. 🙂

  4. Justin, you are such a kick. Mrs. ET’s photos are not nearly as blurry as my mom’s. Of course they were blurry because you went so fast. Don’t you study science in Australia? Your best friend, Manny

    • Hmmm, Manny. I don’t know if your theory is correct. Maybe Mrs ET and Marsha need a few photography lessons. JB

      • I’ve heard of her talking about an Australian lady named Leanne Cole. Maybe you two could get together with her. 🙂 Manny 🙂 P.S. I don’t know why you didn’t take me to see her when I was there with you, Mrs. ET. Not to be impolite or anything, but you know Justin and I like to go places, and we love to have our pictures taken. 🙂 (hint)

        • Manny, Leanne lives in Melbourne which is a long way from here. Maybe Marsha has a surprise up her sleeve. You’ll just have to be patient. JB

          • Mrs. ET, you know I am not very patient. You sound just like my Mom. She told me the same thing, but … I’m not arguing, Mom…. Promise… Awww, Mom, do I have to?… Mrs. ET, Mom says I have to get off the computer and go to bed. It’s almost 11:00. … I know, Mom. Just relax… So I’ll write more soon, Mrs. ET. I wasn’t meaning to argue, BTW. 🙂

          • Poor Manny! I think Marsha is being too bossy. We love you! JB

  5. I tend to agree with Mrs ET that the speed of the train affected the sharpness of the photos. When you are travelling so fast, the small component parts of the camera are moving in time and space at such a rate that even the most infinitessimally small movement (pressing the finger on the shutter button) is multiplied a thousand fold and so the well known condition of ‘blur’ manifests itself. 🙂

    • Hmmm Elaine, Mrs ET is very impressive with your scientific theory and is positive you are correct, but I’m not so sure. This does not explain the number of blurry photos she takes when not on a speeding train. JB

      • Hmmm, I think you have got me there Justin! I will have to get my scientific thinking cap back on and see what other rubbish/technically specific I can come up with! 😀

        • Mrs ET would be eternally grateful if you were able to explain how she manages to take so many bad shots! JB

Trackbacks

  1. Photo Challenge; Blur | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  2. Blurish | My Atheist Blog
  3. Upward Mobility | litadoolan

Speak to me...

