Shiny Happy People

Dear Friends,

I’ve been learning on the job again, this time at the Happiest Place on Earth. That’s right; I’m now a fully trained employee of Tokyo Disneyland. Recently I joined my fellow cast members, as Disney employees are known, in some practical training in customer service and ride organisation.

I was fortunate to spend time with some lovely Disney mentors at several rides and now I’m able to work anywhere any time. The most important skills I practised included smiling, waving and saluting!

P1010850

P1010862

P1010849

Every ride has its own uniform and because I’ve been trained for them all, I will need one of each. I can’t decide which uniform I like best – It’s a Small World has a lovely number in pastel shades while Space Mountain personnel wear a flashy blue creation.

I’m sure I’ll look great whichever uniform I have to wear. Versatility is my second name!

Cast members have to be able to explain to guests what to expect when they go on a ride, so I needed some firsthand experience. I flew sky-high on the StarJets, went for a wild spin on the teacups at Alice’s Tea Party and dropped in on Roger Rabbit.

P1010976

Next time you’re at the Magic Kingdom at Tokyo Disneyland, come and say hello. It should be easy to find me.

P1010912

I’ll be the one teaching Mickey how to yodel!

Justin.

14 Comments

  1. I am soooo jealous, Justin, ole buddy. I would teach him how to growl, and speak a few words in Spanish. 🙂

    • Manny, I think the Disney people might not be impressed if Mickey started growling at people. The Spanish might be more acceptable! JB

  2. oops, I forgot my name, Hugs, Manny 🙂

  3. Lucky you! I imagine it will be quite hard work though, so I hope you don’t exhaust yourself. 🙂

    • Elaine, I’ve been building up my stamina so I can last the distance on this job. The toughest part of the training was trying out all the rides! JB

  4. What a wonderful experience!

    • Working for Disney was fantastic – the best work experience I’ve done so far! JB

      • I worked at a local amusement park back when I was a teen. It’s not close to being like Disney – but – it was fun.

  5. This was a charming entry. 🙂

Speak to me...

