This Little Light of Mine

Dear Friends,

One of my favourite things to do as a world traveller is work experience –  I love stepping into other people’s shoes for a day. This week my work experience reached lofty heights.

The lighthouse at Cape Naturaliste has been operating for 110 years, guiding ships along the treacherous coast of south west Western Australia.

P1050484

P1050460

Until 1996 it was manned by three lighthouse keepers, and even though the light is now automated, I got to be the keeper of the light and resident tour guide for just a day.

Come with me and I’ll show you around.

DSCN3226

Before we begin our tour you need to know the rules of visiting a working lighthouse.

P1050480

The lighthouse was built in 1903. There was a big celebration when it was turned on for the first time in 1904.

DSCN3224

Here is the control room. Before electricity, this tiny kerosene light bulb was all that was needed to power the lighthouse. Giant mirrors magnify the light so it can be seen for miles.

P1050457

It’s worth climbing the 59 steps to the balcony because the views of the rocky coast and the Indian Ocean are wonderful.

P1050456

P1050471

Hold onto your hat please – it’s windy up here!

Justin.

 

10 Comments

  1. You get all the best jobs Justing – I think I might like to have been a lighthouse keeper, although probably just for a day or two, and enjoyed all the lovely views.

  2. That was scary, Justin. You know I hate heights! I think I’ll give up wishing to be a light house bear. Manny 🙂

    • Manny I would look after you.

      • That’s an awfully tall lighthouse, Justin! it was hard enough on the slide. 🙂

        • It’s not as tall as it looks, especially once you’re up the top.

          • uh huh. I’ve heard that line from you before!

          • Well I do come from the Alps you know. JB

          • I just like to get as far up as a tree. I like short trees!

Speak to me...

