Ice Cream Man

Dear Friends,

I’ve been doing some more work experience – at Simmo’s Ice Creamery in Dunsborough. It’s been voted one of the top 15 ice creameries in the world by USA Today and after working there I would have to agree.

DSCN3844

I never knew there was so much to learn about ice cream and I was lucky to receive my training from the great man himself. Simmo took me under his wing and taught me everything he knows about creating amazing ice cream.

DSCN3845

First I had to memorise the names of all 60 ice cream flavours. They are all so inviting – can you imagine tucking into a crunchy cone filled with Coconut Choc Fudge, Crunchie Munchie, Blueberry Meringue or Raspberry Cheesecake? How the customers are able to choose is beyond me. It really is a “Delicious Dilemma”.

DSCN3846

Once I knew all the flavours the next step in my training was taste-testing. Simmo says you can’t be a great ice cream maker unless you know how it should taste. I was particularly good at this part of the training and he was impressed by my quick learning.

DSCN3836Simmo and I discovered that we are true kindred spirits. We have so much in common. Firstly we share a love for delicious ice cream. And did you notice in the photo Simmo is wearing a trainee badge? That’s because he is very modest and prefers to work incognito; another thing we have in common! And, most importantly, we both follow this philosophy:

DSCN3835

At the end of the day my training was complete and Simmo presented me with a special award in honour of my excellent work.

DSCN3848

Simmo, ice cream and me – the perfect combo!

Justin.

DSCN3849

7 Comments

  1. Wow, lucky you! Does Simmo make licorice ice-cream? Did you get a tummy ache, or brain freeze? (I know how to cure that, if you need to know!)

    • He does indeed make liquorice flavour. If I’d known you liked it I would have sent you some! Luckily I didn’t get a tummy ache or a brain freeze. I’m pretty strong when it comes to eating sweet things! JB

  2. Oh – I bet the tasting of ice-cream as part of your training was deeeeeelish!

    • It was and I took my time too, because I had to make sure I had it exactly right. I needed to perfect my tasting technique! JB

  3. Oh Justin. You had my dream job. Mint chocolate chip is my favorite, but love the flavors with nuts also. I, Zeb the Duck, am so impressed with your award. Great job!

  4. Sounds great!

Speak to me...

