The Heat Is On

Dear Friends,

Strange things have been happening in Kuirau Park in the centre of Rotorua.

First I saw this sign.

DSCN6327

What’s so dangerous about thermals?

I wear my thermal underwear all the time in winter!

Then I noticed steam rising from the water of this lake.

DSCN6328

The water looked so inviting, like a giant hot tub. It was crystal clear but it smelled quite strange.

Next I came across these bubbling pools of mud.

DSCN6335

I’ve heard of people having mud baths in Rotorua, but I hope it wasn’t here.

It was like the earth was about to boil over.

DSCN6330

Then I remembered: Rotorua sits on top of an ancient volcano.

I hope it doesn’t blow its top any time soon.

Justin.

Speak to me...

