In the Garden – Weekly Photo Challenge – Work of Art

Dear Friends,

I like to think of myself as a cultured beaver and I enjoy seeing lovely works of art in beautiful surroundings.

The Ballarat Botanical Garden has a collection of marble statuary that ticks all the boxes for me. In the late 1800s the town boomed as a result of the gold rush and the wealthiest citizens set about beautifying public areas and gardens. The Statuary Pavilion was built in the gardens to house five Italian marble statues, with The Flight From Pompeii at its centre. This masterpiece was designed by Professor Carlo Benzoni and carved by Charles Francis Summers.

I love the sense of movement and the feeling that, at any moment, the figures could step down from their plinth and become real.

 I felt dwarfed by the sheer splendour of this magnificent work.

Justin.

 

Speak to me...

