Waterloo! – Weekly Photo Challenge – Monument

Dear Friends,

When Abba sang that famous song about Napoleon and his defeat at Waterloo they didn’t realise that 40 years on their words would inspire a bear and a beaver to undertake a monumental task of courage and endurance. We decided to climb the Butte du Lion at Waterloo.

P1010453

The Butte du Lion, or Lion’s Mound, was built between 1824 and 1826 as a memorial to the soldiers who died on 18 June 1815 during the Battle of Waterloo. Soil taken from the battle field was used to create this artificial hill 43 metres high and 520 metres around. The mound is topped by a lion with its paw on a sphere, symbolising courage and global victory.

P1010442

Manny and I needed all the courage we could muster to climb the 226 steps to the top of the mound.

DSCN0648

This sign, hidden in the bushes, was not very reassuring!

But we were determined to make it to the top.

DSCN0649

I felt like I’d achieved my own personal victory by the time we reached the lion.

DSCN0641

As the song says:

“Finally facing my Waterloo!”

Justin.

P1010450

8 Comments

  1. I am in admiration of your stamina. I was exhausted just looking at the photos! 🙂

    • 🙂 🙂

    • I felt quite tired while I was writing about it too Elaine. It was hard work but worth the effort! JB

  2. Great entry for the challenge, Justin!

    • Thank you Dina. It was certainly a monumental effort for two short-legged creatures! JB

      • Obviously!! 🙂 🙂

  3. I take you over a lion anyway, JB.

    • Why thanks mrsc! I’m probably much more personable and definitely more cuddly! JB

Speak to me...

