Crazy Train

Dear Friends,

One thing I’ve learned since I began travelling the world is that it’s good to take risks and go where no beaver has gone before. Even I have a limit though and I reached it when I rode on the Scenic Railway in the beautiful Blue Mountains.

DSCN2529

The Scenic Railway is the steepest passenger railway in the world with an incline of 52 degrees. The track descends 310 metres through a tunnel in the mountain and ends on the floor of the Jamison Valley.

DSCN2622

25 million passengers have ridden the railway since it opened in 1945 and I bet they were all as scared as I was.

DSCN2588

DSCN2587

The view of the track before we started was hair-raising enough

DSCN2590

but looking out to the side as we plummeted downwards was even worse.

DSCN2593

There are spectacular views of the forest and the mountains as the train follows the track…or so I’ve been told. I can’t vouch for this because I didn’t open my eyes! I was pleased to reach the end of the ride, but then I had another dilemma.

DSCN2598

I had to go back up again!

Justin.

5 Comments

  1. Oooh, my heart was in my mouth when I was looking at some of these photos!

  2. I’m scared just watching you do it, Justin. I’m afraid I would have fallen out! Manny 🙂 I have to sign my name now so you will know it’s me, not my mom. I don’t have my own picture. ;(

    • You would have to hold on tight, just like I did. Thanks for signing your name. I don’t want to say the wrong thing to Marsha!

      • I know, Carol. She thinks she’s so smart. She’s really sensitive, isn’t she? My gosh! I’ve been home too long! 🙂 Manny 🙂

Speak to me...

