Happiness Is Egg Shaped – Weekly Photo Challenge – Beginning

Dear Friends,

An egg is the symbol of new life and new beginnings.

Did you know that an adult chicken is 5.6 times longer than its egg and an adult ostrich is 11.6 times longer than its egg? An adult male salt water crocodile averages 5 metres in length while its egg is only 8 centimetres long. That makes it 60 times longer than its egg!

DSCN5311

I found these enormous eggs at The Giant’s House. Imagine the size of the adult creature that laid it! It’s the stuff of nightmares.

I’m not sure what was going to hatch out of it. Maybe one of these…

DSCN5283

or these…

DSCN5268

or even one of these.

DSCN5284

One thing I do know for sure: I didn’t lay this egg!

DSCN5274

Ouch!

Justin.

13 Comments

  1. Not all NZers are as obviously bonkers as the owners of that house, JB.

  2. I don’t want to see what hatches out of that egg!

    janet

    • I didn’t hang around just in case it was something nasty that had a taste for small furry creatures Janet. JB

  3. Thank you for those interesting facts about the size of the young creature compared to its egg – I had no idea. My eyes are watering at the thought of you trying to lay that egg in the last picture, Justin!

  4. Thanks for the fun facts, JB! I love facts. What about the extinct Moa in NZ? The emu in Australia? (Their eggs are huge and teal (?) coloured). Time for research!

    • I have seen an emu’s egg and it’s not quite as big as these eggs, but still big enough to bring tears to my eyes at the thought of laying one. I am really quite glad that beavers aren’t egg layers.

  5. Justin, you’re a boy beaver. Boy beavers don’t lay eggs. Girl beavers do! hehehe Gotcha! 🙂

    • Are you sure about that Marsha??

      • Mom didn’t write that. I did. Mom doesn’t know too much, and I have to help her, just like I’m teaching Justin. I’m bigger than him now! 🙂

        • That’s funny. You need to say it’s you Manny, so I don’t get confused. JB

          • Yeah, Carol just told me the same thing! I’m learning, JB. I’ll just have to use our secret words so you know it’s me. Stinky Manny 🙂

Speak to me...

