Hit Me With Your Best Shot

Dear Friends,

You only have to look at me to see that I’m not very athletic and playing any type of sport isn’t my preferred leisure activity. But those of you who have been following my adventures for some time will know that I am an avid follower of sport. I enjoy the action, the passion of both players and spectators, and the thrill of a big win. So it was with great anticipation that I went to the Brisbane International at the Queensland Tennis Centre and I wasn’t disappointed.

DSCN1463

I was excited to see Galina Voskoboeva play. I’m sure we must be related – “Voskoboeva” sounds a lot like “Justin Beaver”.

DSCN1497

Can you see any family resemblance?

DSCN1506

It takes many different people to make a sporting event like the Brisbane International a success. Some of them are obvious:

the players

DSCN1488

the umpires

DSCN1494

the linesmen

DSCN1455

and the cameramen,

jb1

but you might be surprised to see who else was there.

The Fanatics sang and cheered and supported their favourites all day

DSCN1492

and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles made a special appearance for the coin toss.

DSCN1475

DSCN1472

DSCN1467

This giant walking tennis ball completed my amazing day when he asked me to pose with him. He had been with a very pretty girl so I hope he wasn’t on the rebound!

DSCN1464

Game, set and match.

DSCN1465

Justin.

5 Comments

  1. colour me green – love a good day at the tennis.

  2. I’ve been to Wimbledon a few times and enjoyed it very much, but it was abviously very dull compared to your tennis days out – we had no visits from Ninja Turtles, or giant walking tennis balls! 😀

    • Lucky you. Mrs ET is extremely envious. Going to Wimbledon is one of her dreams. Maybe I need to come too, to liven things up. JB

Speak to me...

