Backwards Traveller – Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting

Dear Friends,

I’ve often wondered what it would be like to travel through time and visit another era and I had the opportunity to find out at Rainbow Springs in Rotorua. Choosing a destination was difficult – should I witness the eruption of Vesuvius or be the first beaver to walk on the moon?

DSCN6858

I remembered Spielberg’s classic movie and my choice was made – I was on my way to the Jurassic Period.

DSCN6856

I entered the time machine in a swirl of lights and a rush of noise…

DSCN6860

…and instantly I found myself in a prehistoric forest. Strange, animal sounds came from the undergrowth and mist rose from the water. I had the uneasy feeling that I had arrived in the wrong place at the wrong time.

DSCN6863

Suddenly I was confronted by two immense Tyrannosaurus Rex! They seemed intent on displaying their massive jaws and equally massive rows of sharp teeth. All I could hope for was that their eyesight was poor. One tiny beaver wouldn’t even be a mouthful for one of these gigantors of the jungle.

DSCN6867

DSCN6868

I decided to tempt fate no longer: this fleeting visit to the past was over. As soon as I pressed the time travel button I was back in the 21st Century, and not a moment too soon.

DSCN6857

Steven Spielberg can have Jurassic Park all to himself.

Justin.

6 Comments

  1. Loved this!

  2. cool ..

Speak to me...

