Kia Ora Ehoa! – Weekly Photo Challenge – Culture

Dear Friends,

 This week I experienced some traditional Māori hospitality at Te Puia in Rotorua. At first I thought they’d forgotten I was coming when a fearsome warrior challenged me at the gate, eyes bulging and tongue protruding. It was so frightening I nearly turned tail.

DSCN6510

NZ 1305

Luckily it was all for show and eventually he invited me to the wharenui, where everyone was waiting to greet me.

DSCN6513

 Inside the meeting house we sang and danced all day. There wasn’t a piupiu small enough for me so I had to make do with my lederhosen but that didn’t stop me from joining in with all the action. 

DSCN6539

After all the singing and dancing I was honoured as the VIP manuhiri of the day.

DSCN6540

Don’t mess with me and my new hoa!

Justin

  • Kia ora ehoa! – Hello friend. Welcome!
  • wharenui – meeting house
  • piupiu – dance kilt
  • manuhiri – guest
  • hoa – friend
8 Comments

  1. What an intense way of expressing culture!

    • It was very impressive. Now I know how the Wallabies feel when they face the All Blacks on the rugby field. JB

  2. Tena Koe, JB. You look right at home.

  3. That must have been a very interesting visit – although a bit scary to begin with! 🙂

  4. Not only are you a world traveller, Justin, but bilingual as well! Thanks for Maori education!

Speak to me...

