Piece by Piece – Weekly Photo Challenge – Geometry

Dear Friends,

 This weekend I went on retreat. It wasn’t just any retreat but the Creative Craft Retreat! I’m not a crafter myself but I was invited to speak to the ladies about my journey and their response was very gratifying. They loved hearing about my travels and hopefully I’ve inspired some to pack their bags and head down the path to their own adventures.

 There were all sorts of activities happening – mixed media painting, quilting, scrapbooking, and knitting. I was most intrigued by the patchwork class, taught by one of my friends and fans The Crafty Mummy.

The ladies in the class were so passionate about the piles of beautiful fabric they had spread across the table and I was shocked when they proceeded to cut it into lots of little pieces with a lethal looking weapon called a rotary cutter. And then they sewed all the pieces back together again!

I could see neither rhyme nor reason to it until I saw the finished quilt tops. Wow! They were geometric masterpieces of design and colour.

 I could see that these quilts would be cosy and warm when they were finished, and I was delighted to receive my very own quilt as a thank you gift. The quilt makers at Creative Craft Retreat are my new best friends.

 Wrapped up in love,

 Justin.

5 Comments

  1. Justin is so cute!! I love the quilts. I have always wanted to make one, but never took the time. A friend has just made me a t-shirt quilt that she’s gifting to me this week. I can’t wait to see it. Thank you for sharing your wonderful adventure at the retreat. What a perfect answer to the challenge. So is Justin going to become a crafter?

    • How lovely that you’re being gifted a special quilt! Justin says he’s more ‘crafty’ than a ‘crafter’! 😉

  2. Interesting explorations of Justin!

    Inviting you to leave your footprints and explore my “Geometric” interpretations too, at http://sreeniviews.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/geometry-inspired-and-instigated-by-nature/

Trackbacks

  1. Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award « The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  2. Snake Charmer | The Adventures of Justin Beaver

Speak to me...

