Who Took the Cookie?

Dear Friends,

Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park is part of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area. It covers an area of 1 612 square kilometres and is home to an abundance of native flora and fauna.

I read this wildlife notice at the ranger station at Lake St Clair this week. It was a timely warning but I could have done with reading it 48 hours before…

My journey through the national park started in the north, at Cradle Mountain. Dove Lake, at the foot of the mountain, is a glacial lake and the looping track around it provides wonderful views of the park. It was the perfect afternoon for hiking so I set off, stocked up with the necessary supplies for a leisurely stroll along the boardwalk.

I stopped many times along the way as the photo opportunities of the pristine lake and the jagged mountains rising up behind it were endless.

Halfway round the lake I came to a picnic area and decided that it was time for an afternoon snack. I was serenely contemplating the view and enjoying my scotch finger biscuit…

 …when suddenly I felt something rush past me, flapping and scratching, and before I knew it my biscuit was gone! A yellow-eyed currawong had stolen it right out of my paw! He didn’t even bother to take it away but flew down to the ground nearby and polished it off with great relish.

It was then that I noticed this sign on the picnic table – too little, too late. My serenity had vanished along with my biscuit.

So when I saw the warning notice at Lake St Clair at the southern end of the park two days later I had a discomforting feeling of déjà vu.

Watch out for self-serve birds.

Justin.

10 Comments

  1. Valerie Noble

    As usual a brilliant recount of Justin’s latest adventure, what a little trouper he is, can’t wait for the next episode.

    ________________________________

  2. 🙂

  3. Better that he took Justin’s cookie and not his nuts!

  4. Cadbury chocolate! Yum! Shame on that bird!

Trackbacks

  1. The Great Pretender « The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  2. No Birds Today? « The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  3. On The Boardwalk | The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  4. Chicken On The Run | The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  5. Between You and Me – Weekly Photo Challenge – Between | The Adventures of Justin Beaver

Speak to me...

