Yes, We have no bananas!

Dear Friends,

Australia is the land of all things big – the Big Pineapple, the Big Trout, the Big Penguin, even the Big Prawn. But the most beloved and most famous of all is the Big Banana at Coffs Harbour.

When I first heard about this oversized fruit my imagination, fuelled by my love of sweet treats, ran riot. I could just see it – a giant yellow banana, split in two, topped with creamy vanilla ice cream, burnished with rich flowing chocolate sauce, crowned with cherries and sprinkled with crushed nuts. Mmmmm… I couldn’t get there fast enough.

Well, it was a giant yellow banana, but that was where the dream ended.

It wasn’t edible and there was no ice cream in sight. The banana was built in 1964 in an effort to attract customers to the roadside stall of a local banana plantation, and since then it’s become one of the most well known tourist attractions in Australia. It’s a walk through construction, with a display inside which tells the story of banana cultivation in Coffs Harbour. The one thing I did learn is that even though we think of bananas as fruit, they are actually classified as herbs. It won’t stop me eating them!

The choice of banana shaped souvenirs in the gift shop was almost as large as the banana itself, but I had just one thing on my mind.

Here’s to the banana split!

Banana split

 Justin.

5 Comments

  1. Maree Nolan

    You need to watch your waist line Justin!

    • Maree, my waistline disappeared years ago. In fact, I’m not sure I ever had one! As long as my lederhosen still fit I won’t have a problem.

Trackbacks

  1. Yes, We have no bananas! | Home Far Away From Home
  2. Mellow Yellow – Weekly Photo Challenge – Yellow | The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  3. Bananarama | The Adventures of Justin Beaver

Speak to me...

