There’s No Business Like Show Business!

Dear Friends,

A few weeks ago I received some very exciting news, but until now I’ve been sworn to secrecy. Today I am finally able to share the news with you – I have made my acting debut in musical theatre!

The Toowoomba Choral Society’s production this year was ‘Dusty’, the story of that icon of the swinging sixties, Dusty Springfield. The cast had been rehearsing for weeks when the director called me. He was searching for someone to fill a cameo role and he’d heard about my singing abilities. We met, I auditioned and it turned out that I had just the wow factor he was looking for.

There were so many decisions to be made…costume, hairstyle, make up. I loved these gorgeous wigs and badly wanted to wear one, but in the end it was decided that my natural look couldn’t be bettered. My lederhosen were perfect for the role.

 On show day I met the cast backstage. They were so friendly and welcoming. Everyone had heard about my yodelling abilities and wanted to meet me. In fact, a couple of people even asked for some singing tips! I took that as a great compliment, because the cast was amazing and so were their renditions of all Dusty’s favourites.

The time came for my stage debut and suddenly there I was, on the stage, singing with Dusty and The Pet Shop Boys…a dream come true! The audience was enthralled by our performance and their applause was deafening.

254936_464233393608651_2050056183_n[1]

Dusty, I only want to be with you!

Justin.

6 Comments

  1. Bravo Justin! You’re a star!

  2. Kristy

    Love it!!

  3. Thank you, thank you…

  4. Maree Nolan

    What next Justin- The Lyric Theatre or Boadway?

Trackbacks

  1. The Great Pretender « The Adventures of Justin Beaver
  2. Fame! | The Adventures of Justin Beaver

Speak to me...

